FOR GROUPS AT YOUR MARINA OR CLUB
CALL OR TEXT
OR USE FORM
September 19, 2020
ZOOM virtual class
October 17, 2020
ZOOM Virtual class
November 21, 2020
ZOOM Virtual class
ABOUT BOATING SAFELY: Every 3rd Saturday on ZOOM virtual classroom ... PRE-REGISTRATION REQUIRED min 2 weeks!
Due to the continuing caution in place to avoid COVID-19 exposures, we will offer the course in a virtual ZOOM classroom until further notice on:
September 19, October 17, etc TBD
Information available at Macedon Public Library and Naples Library: Pick up workbooks at the library. Register below!
Groups of 6 or more may schedule special sessions by contacting us below.
Welcome to the NASBLA approved boating safety course accepted by New York State and many others!
This course will give you the certificate you need to operate a PWC if you are at least 14 years of age, or operate a recreational boat if you are at least 10 years of age and not 18!
You will learn about:
- All types of boats and how they work
- How to prepare for a safe outing
- Basic rules and navigation
- Safe operation of your vessel
- Legal requirements in New York
- How to deal with emergencies
- Enjoying water sports safely
Course requirements: 8 hours with an experienced instructor of the US Coast Guard Auxiliary in a VIRTUAL CLASSROOM on ZOOM. Final Exam is electronic as well!
State Required Boating Safety Certificate Course!
The recently passed “Brianna’s Law” in New York State mandates that everyone must pass a boating safety course by January 1, 2025. The Coast Guard Auxiliary in Canandaigua will offer classes all year round to facilitate this process.
The new law states that you are required to be the holder (in possession) of a Boating Safety Certificate any time you want to operate a PWC (Personal Water Craft). You must also be at least 14 years old. If you will be operating any another type of vessel you must be at least 10 years old and have the certificate. The requirement to take the course will be phased in over the next five (5) years as follows:
You will be required to get this Certificate if you were:
- Born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020.
- Born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022.
- Born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2023.
- Born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2024.
- All motor boat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025.
The Safe Boating Course
These classes consist of 8 hours of virtual classroom time with an experienced instructor authorized by the USCoast Guard Auxiliary.
We will send you the workbook ahead of time.
The classroom instruction time includes taking a written exam emailed to your individual email address. This will cover both the About Boating Safely information and the New York State Boater's Guide contents. The classroom session will review the important information you need for the exams!
Upon the successful completion of all requirements you will receive a certificate and wallet card!
Should you not be able to attend the class for which you registered, you may join any other class in Canandaigua to complete your requirements.
Registration and Payment
Please register here and make your payment below.
Please submit seperate applications for each participant with individual emails.
You may register anytime before attending class to allow for mailing the workbook.
Thank you for supporting your local Coast Guard Auxiliary!